Sunday, May 01, 2011

The Weeping Angles

Doctor Who fans out there will feel a chill run up their spine when they view the photo above. Of all the monsters that that have been featured in this show since 1963,(yes, it's been on for 48 years now)the Weeping Angels may be the most frightening.

These angels are statues that are perfectly still as long as you are looking at them, but blink and they move very quickly. Blink twice and they will snap your neck.

It seems that a few years ago people started going angel crazy. They collected all sorts of angel imagery, most being visions of chubby little toddlers with wings but when you read up on what are considered the ten phylum of angels one will come away fearing them like the weeping angels rather than loving them like we see them in religious fiction. The fact they are described as "phylum" is interesting on its own.

The Guardians are the first phylum. They assist us with our fears and phobias. The color of their wing tips is silver.

The Archangels are the second phylum. There are 4 of them. Their primary purpose is healing and they're also messengers of hope. Archangels have white wings with blue tips.

The third and fourth level of angels are the Cherubim and Seraphim. These are singing angels and they hang out constantly singing the words "Holy, holy, holy" They have white wings with rose colored tips.

The fifth phylum of angels are The Powers. The Powers use their energy to heal. The electrical force that comes from them enters your body and heals you cell by cell. They're quite large in size.Their wings are white with greenish white tips.

The sixth phylum of angels are The Carrions also known as Blood Angels. Their primary purpose is to escort away dark entities when they die. Their sole mission is to stand back until a dark entity passes into death. No mention of wing color.

The seventh phylum of angels are The Virtues. They help to guide us before we begin our journeys here on earth. They have white wings with pale blue tips and a silvery blue luminescence.

The eighth phylum of angels are The Dominions. They watch over us and permanently record our actions and good deeds in the Akaschic Records (look that one up, it's worth it). They have white wings with maroon tips.

The ninth and tenth phylum are The Thrones and Principalities and are considered the highest phylum of angels. They represent Mother and Father God's armies.

The Thrones and Principalities come to us when we're in any type of danger. The Thrones are Mother God's army and The Principalities are Father God's army.

In conclusion, though the Doctor Who Weeping Angels are scary, the theosophical accepted phylum of angels are every bit as scary.

As Ricky Gervais said, "I thank God I'm and Atheist."


Blogger darev2005 said...

I always wondered what the "Don't blink" thing was all about. I've always thought cherubimn and seraphim to be a little creepy. Actually, the whole thing is weird if you think about it. It's a perfect example of having too much time on somebody's hands.

7:55 AM  
Blogger The Guy Who Writes This said...

And why did they stop there, they could have invented so many other types.

9:48 AM  
Anonymous Uncle Walt said...

Where's all this from? I vaguely remember Cheribum/Seraphim in the Bible, and Archangels.

I heard Lucifer/Satan was an Archangel before he rebelled.

Some other "Heavenly Hosts" are the Nephelim ... who mated with human women and created "heros of old". And a union which Goliath may have been an offspring of.

11:42 AM  
Blogger The Guy Who Writes This said...

Walt, several internet sources. It's amazing humans have survived with all the shit they believe. Imaginary friends.

11:52 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

what kind of Angel was John Travolta in "Michael"?

8:47 PM  
Blogger The Guy Who Writes This said...

Archangel under Xenu.

8:57 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home